class of subjects handled by a department. The work of many of these departments and boards is given in detail in later Chapters of this volume. The Index will be useful in locating required information.

Department of Agriculture.—This Department was established in 1867 (30 Vict., c. 53) and conducts the concerns of all phases of agriculture. Research and experimentation are carried out by the Science Service and the Experimental Farms Service; the maintenance of standards and protection of products by the Production Service and Marketing Service; reclamation and development by the Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration and the Maritime Marshland Rehabilitation Administration; security and price stability policies are administered under the Prairie Farm Assistance Administration and the Agricultural Prices Support Board. The results of work in these various fields and general information on the policies of the Department is made available to the public through the Information Service.

Auditor General's Office.—This Office originated in 1878 (41 Vict., c. 7) and currently functions under the Financial Administration Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 116). The Auditor General is responsible for examining accounts relating to the Consolidated Revenue Fund and to public property, and for reporting annually to the House of Commons the results of his examinations. He also audits the accounts of various Crown corporations and other instrumentalities.

Board of Grain Commissioners.—Constituted in 1912 under the Canada Grain Act, 1912—now Canada Grain Act, 1930 (R.S.C. 1952, c. 25)—the Board of Grain Commissioners provides general supervision over grain handling in Canada, by licensing elevator operators, inspecting and weighing grain en route to and shipped from terminal elevators, and other services. The Board, comprising a Chief Commissioner and two Commissioners, has authority to inquire into any matter relating to the grading and weighing of grain, deductions for dockage or shrinkage, deterioration of any grain during storage or treatment, unfair or discriminatory operation of a grain elevator, etc. The Board publishes its regulations in the Canada Gazette and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Board of Transport Commissioners.—The powers of this Board, which was organized as the Board of Railway Commissioners in 1904, have been extended from time to time until today it has regulatory and judicial functions dealing with almost all aspects of railway activity including location, construction and operation of lines, rates and charges. It is also entrusted with the regulation of other transportation and communication agencies, including express companies, telegraph companies, telephone companies other than those provincially or municipally controlled, international bridges and tunnels, inland shipping and pipelines. The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Canadian Government Specifications Board.—This is a co-operative body in which Government and industry participate on a voluntary basis. It was formed June 13, 1934, as the Canadian Government Purchasing Standards Committee, under the auspices of the National Research Council. It undertakes the preparation of specifications in commodity fields and for materials, processes and equipment in which government departments and agencies may be interested and arranges for testing and research work.

Chief Electoral Office.—This Office was established in 1920 under the provisions of the Dominion Elections Act, now the Canada Elections Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 23), and amendments thereto, and is responsible for the conduct of all federal elections as well as the elections of members of the Northwest Territories Council. In addition it conducts any vote taken under the Canada Temperance Act. The Chief Electoral Officer reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

Department of Citizenship and Immigration.—This Department was constituted in December 1949 (R.S.C. 1952, c. 67) and came into existence on Jan. 18, 1950, under the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration. Most departmental work is carried on through four branches: The Canadian Citizenship Branch assists governmental and non-governmental agencies engaged or interested in facilitating the adjustment and integration of newcomers and in making Canadians conscious of their privileges and responsibilities as citizens. The Canadian Citizenship Registration Branch administers the Canadian Citizenship Act and is the custodian of all records under that Act and all Naturalization Acts previously in force. The Immigration Branch administers the Immigration Act and Regulations and is responsible for the selection, examination and movement of immigrants, the exclusion or deportation of undesirables and the settlement or establishment of immigrants in Canada. The activities of the Indian Affairs Branch include management of all Indian affairs. Its organization consists of a headquarters office at Ottawa, a regional supervisory staff, and 87 local agencies in the field.

The Minister of Citizenship and Immigration is responsible to Parliament for the National Film Board, the National Library, the Public Archives, and for the National Gallery of Canada which is governed by a Board of Trustees.